## Baldwin to Head 1961-62 Slate of Candidates



A.R. Baldwin



K.F. Mattil



W.O. Lundberg

AFTER THE JANUARY 3, 1961, deadline for nominating suggestions, the Nominating and Election Committee, of which Norris D. Embree is chairman, met in the national headquarters office on the 5th to consider the 288 suggestions and make up a ticket for the mail balloting on officers to serve for the 1961–62 term. Active members were sent ballots on February 6, 1961, with an April 3 deadline for voting, preliminary to the 52nd annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society, May 1–3 at the Sheraton-Jefferson hotel in St. Louis, Mo.

Jefferson hotel in St. Louis, Mo. In accordance with the by-laws the candidate for the presidency will be unopposed: A.R. Baldwin (1944), who has served as vice president and membership chairman during the past year, and as editor of the Journal of the A.O.C.S. and chairman of the Journal Committee since 1949. He is director of research for Cargill Inc., Minneapolis, Minn.

One candidate for vice president will be A.E. MacGee (1931), advertising chairman of the Journal for many years and member-at-large on the Governing Board in 1958 and 1960, also founder of the Technical Safety Committee in 1956 and chairman until 1959. He is manager of the Industrial Division of Skelly Oil Company, Kansas City, Mo.

The other candidate will be K.F. Mattil (1944), secretary of the Society in 1960 and member-at-large on the Board in 1959, also member of the Education Committee since 1947 and chairman from 1955 to 1959. He is associate director of research for Swift and Company, Chicago, Ill.

O NE CANDIDATE for the office of secretary will be J.C. Harris (1944), member-at-large on the Board since 1959, an associate editor of the Journal and member of two Journal committees: Literature Review and Advertising, member of the National Program Committee, and chairman of the Soap and Synthetic Detergent Analysis Committee. He is assistant director of research, Monsanto Chemical Company, Dayton, O.

Opposing him will be W.O. Lundberg (1944), member-atlarge on the Board in 1960, member of the Bond Award Committee from 1957 to 1959 and chairman in 1958. He is executive director of the Hormel Institute, Austin, Minn., and has been on the faculty of the University of Minnesota since 1938. He is the author of more than 100 scientific articles.

This is the first time in many years that there have been two candidates for the office of secretary. The late J.C.P. Helm served as secretary-treasurer for 25 years, and since 1944 there has been only one candidate in each election.

The office of treasurer will continue to be unopposed for one more year. A.F. Kapecki (1953), who has served since 1953 (following J.P. Harris, 1945–46, and J.J. Vollertsen, 1947-52), will again be a candidate. He has been chairman of the Chicago Convention Committee in 1953 and 1956 and chairman of the Convention Policy Committee since 1959, charged with bringing out a revised convention manual. He is secretary of Wurster and Sanger Inc., Chicago, and secretary-treasurer of Wurster and Sanger International Inc.

THERE are six candidates for member-at-large on the Governing Board, with three to be elected: F.L. Avera, W.S. Gilpin Jr., C.W. Hoerr, Raymond Reiser, R.C. Stillman, and S.P. Taylor.

Mr. Avera (1947) is a two-time past chairman of the Northern California Section of the American Oil Chemists' Society. He is director of research for Skippy, Best Foods Division, Corn Products Company Inc., Alameda, Calif.

Mr. Gilpin (1944) is manager of the Technical Service Refinery Division, Canada Packers Ltd., Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Another new candidate will be C.W. Hoerr (1943), who has served on the Chicago Convention Committee and been co-chairman in 1953, chairman in 1956 and 1958. He was chairman of the Fatty Acid Award Committee from 1957 to 1959, and he has been a member of such committees as



A.E. MacGee



J.C. Harris



A.F. Kapecki



F.L. Avera



W.S. Gilpin Jr.



C.W. Hoerr



R.C. Stillman



**Raymond Reiser** 



S.P. Taylor

Nominating and Election, Advertising, Exhibits, and Convention Policy. He is technical assistant to the director of research, Durkee Famous Foods, Chicago.

Raymond Reiser (1946) has been a member-at-large on the Board during the past year, an associate editor of the Journal since 1957, and a member of the Membership Committee since 1959. He is professor in the department of biochemistry and nutrition, A & M College of Texas, College Station.

The fifth candidate will be R.C. Stillman (1934), who was a member-at-large on the Governing Board in 1957 and 1958 and secretary in 1959. He has been on the Examination Another newcomer to the ranks of candidates will be S.P. Taylor (1946), manager, catalytic chemicals division, E.F. Drew and Company, Boonton, N.J.

Election results will be announced in Dallas on May 1. Serving with Dr. Embree on the committee are L.R. Dugan Jr., E.R. Hahn, R.R. King, and D.V. Stingley.

## 1960 Revisions Are Out

Orders may now be placed with the American Oil Chemists' Society at 35 E. Wacker drive, Chicago 1, Ill., for the 1960 Revisions to the Methods of Analysis. Price is \$3. Remittance should be sent with orders. The table of contents is given below.

Ca 9a-52	Refining Loss	Revised
Ca 9f-57	Neutral Oil	Official
Ca 14-56	Total, Free, and Combined Glycerol	Official
Cc 9b-55	Flash Point	Official
Cc 12-59	Titer Test	Amended
Ce 13b-45	Color	Revised
Cc 14-59	Congeal Point	Revised
Cc 15-60	Soap in Oil-Conductivity Method	Tentative
Cc 16-60	Consistency-Penetration Method	Tentative
Cd 8-53	Peroxide Value	Official
Cd 9-57	Oxirane Oxygen	Amended
Cd 10-57	Solid Fat Index	Revised
Cd 11-57	Alpha-Monoglycerides	Official
Cd 13-60	Hydroxyl Value	Tentative
Da 4a-48	Free Acid or Free Alkali	Revised
Da 22-48	Sulfates	Amended
Da 31-58	Copper	Amended
Dc 2-59	Moisture by the Distillation Method	Amended
Dc 3a-59	Alcohol-Soluble Matter	Amended
Dc 3b-59	Alcohol-Insoluble Matter	Amended
Dc 4-59	Ester SO <sub>3</sub>	Amended
Dc 5-59	Combined Alcohols	Amended
Dc 6-59	Alkalinity	Amended
Dc 8-59	Unsulfated Material	Amended
Dd 3-60	Sodium Alkylbenzene Sulfonate	Tentative
	by Ultraviolet Absorption	
Dd 4-60	Neutral Oil (Unsulfonated Material)	Tentative
	in Alkyl Benzene Sulfonates	
Ka 2-58	Acid Value	Official
Ka 6-59	Viscosity of Transparent Liquids	Official
	by Bubble Time Method	
Ka 9-51	Iodine Value	Official
Ka 12-55	Diene Value	Official
Ka 13-56	Spectrophotometric Determination	Official
	of Conjugated Dienoic Acid	4
Ka 14-60	Nonvolatiles (Solids)	Tentative
L 2b.57	Moisture (Modified Karl Fischer Reagent)	Official
L 6a-59	Titer Test	Corrected
L 12a-55	Polyunsaturated Acids	Official
L 13a-57	Photometric Index	Official

## • 35 Years Ago

"Oil Filtration," by D.R. Sperry was published in the February issue of the Journal of Oil and Fat Industries. The paper covered specifically the four principal reasons for filtering oils: to clarify with or without the use of a filter aid; to clarify and remove a substance that has been added incidentally to refining or use; to remove a substance precipitated from the oil; and to change the physical state of the oil.

L.F. Hoyt, chairman of the subcommittee on the Determination of Detergency of Soap Products of the American Oil Chemists' Society reported that their task was to formulate a workable method.

David Schwartz, a member since the founding of the Society of Cotton Products Analysts, died on February 3, 1926. He was vice president and general manager for the South Texas Cotton Oil Company in Houston, Tex.